top of page

Founders Awards


Nominate a person or entity using this form. After the nomination deadline expires, the Founders Award Committee will review each nomination and may recommend an honoree to the FMJA executive board. If the board accepts the recommendation, the president will notify the recipient and the recipient will be presented the award at the FMJA Convention’s Award Lunch.


Nominees may be any federal judge, person, attorney, law firm, law school, or other organization. Nominees must have made valuable and lasting contributions to the Magistrate Judges system.


  • Thomas E. Davis and Hon. James Hopkins (2023)

  • Hon. Tim Baker, Hon. Alan Baverman and Hon. Lisa Lenihan (2022)

  • (not awarded in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19 pandemic)

  • Hon. Jonathan Feldman and Hon. Barry Kurren (2019)

  • Hon. Celeste F. Bremer and Hon. Louisa S. Porter (2018)

  • Hon. William (Billy) Cassady and Hon. Jerome (Jerry) Niedermeier (2017)

  • Hon. Karen Wells Roby, Hon. Sidney I. Schenkier, and Hon. Karen L. Strombom (2016)

  • Hon. Mark Abel and Hon. Peter Palermo (2015);

  • Hon. Aaron Goodstein and Hon. Karen Klein (2014);

  • Carol Sefren (2013);

  • Jim Duff (2012);

  • John Napier (2011);

  • Hon. John Roberts (2007);

  • Hon. Nina Gershon and Hon. Edward Becker (2006);

  • Hon. Tommy Miller, Hon. Paul Komives and Hon. Richard Peterson (2005);

  • Richard Dargan (2004);

  • Hon. John Weinberg (2002);

  • Duane Lee (posthumously) (2001);

  • Hon. John Moulds (2000);

  • Hon. Harvey Schlesinger  (1999);

  • Hon. Robert Collings and Thomas Hnatowski (1998);

  • Hon. William H. Rehnquist and Hon. Philip M. Pro (1997);

  • Hon. Illa Jeanne Sensenich, Hon. Donald Abram and Hon. Virginia Morgan (1996);

  • William Schwarzer (1995);

  • Thomas Jones (posthumously) and L. Ralph Meacham (1992);

  • Hon. Robert Carr and Robert Kastenmeier (1991);

  • Hon. John Roper and Hon. Joseph Hatchett (1990);

  • Hon. Charles Metzner (1989);

  • Hon. Richard Goldsmith (posthumously), Peter McCabe and Hon. Otto Skopil (1987)

bottom of page